Hi Stacy and Shawn...and all the Expatriate Café faithfuls!
Stacy, thanks for mentioning this in the forum. I was going to do it last night but had spent numerous hours back and forth with the affected person, checking and verifying the information that he sent to me, compiling it and sending it off to the Guardia Civil as well as writing the article.
I just had to go to bed as I was exhausted. I had the intention of coming back to it this morning.
Uff...this case is a really complicated one and involves phising, supplanting (misrepresenting) governmental websites, airline companies as well as lawyers.
All I can say is BE CAREFUL when operating through the internet.
If it seems too good to be true, IT MOST LIKELY IS.Personally, I never trust a business whose website ends in .tk nor do I trust a business that does not have it's own personal domain (such as
xxx@expatriatecafe.com). If I wish to do business with those types of businesses, I do it OFFLINE and if possible, in person.
Here is the repeat of the article on the front page of the cafe:
A specific case of a fraudulent North American Language Assistants Program has been brought to our attention. After reviewing the information communicated to us, the administrators of the Expatriate Café have put the matter into the hands of the local authorities. In the meantime, we wish to remind all of you that there are numerous cases of attempts to rip-off and otherwise make off with money of well intentioned, eager, potential Language Assistants, taking advantage of your strong desire to come to Spain.
We exhort you all to please use extreme caution when working with third party providers. Scrutinize every detail of the communication, including email addresses, website addresses and their extensions. The official website extension for Spain is
.es .
The website for the program is http://www.mepsyd.es/exterior/usa/en/programs/us_assistants/default.shtml .
The specific case that was brought to our attention is that of a potential candidate who had seen an advertisement for the program on an ESL website. He made contact with the advertisers, who then led him through various steps requiring him to wire money through Western Union. Please note that the Ministerio de Educación does not charge you money for this program. You WILL need to pay money for your visa and this can be done only at an authorized governmental entity: either your local Spanish Consulate or Embassy.
Fortunately this candidate had enough foresight to contact us at the Café to ask us our opinion on the process he was going through and has been able to recover his money.
Please note the following fraudulent website/email address:www.espanaministeriodeeducacion.tk / info@espanaministeriodeeducacion.tkLinks to the supposed job advertisement: http://www.eslelite.com/cgi-bin/mojoJobs/id/29442/
http://www.getesljobs.com/job_print.asp?jobid=5934